American Art Collector; Andrew Wyeth (1917-2009)

aac1_s

The February issue of American Art Collector has a great story of the Maine trip and upcoming exhibitions, including lots of images. It should be out on newsstands soon if it isn’t already. And still plenty of time to book your tickets to Boston!

wyeth_s

Christina’s World, 1948, © Andrew Wyeth, tempera on panel, 32″ x  48″, Museum of Modern Art, NYC

Relatedly, but on a much sadder note, I’ve just learned that Andrew Wyeth, one of the greatest American artists, just passed away last night or early this morning at the age of 91. You can read about him and his life here and here. The small town our group of artists stayed at up in Maine is where Andrew lived. Paul Schulenburg, one of the guys on the trip with paintings in the upcoming exhibitions (including a painting of Andrew’s studio) put it nicely: “Although we didn’t get to meet him on our visit, it was nice to know he was around.”

6 thoughts on “American Art Collector; Andrew Wyeth (1917-2009)

  1. morgan!

    I was sad to hear about Andrew Wyeth’s death.

    Do you remember the poster of ‘Christina’s World’ that was on the wall in Mr. Gray’s classroom? That was the first I’d seen of Andrew’s work, and it was enough to hook me. His ability to capture detail and a certain harsh coldness mesmerized me.

    Have you ever been to the Brandywine River Museum? When I was in PA a few years ago, I made sure to take the lovely drive out of Philly to see the Wyeth collection there. Fantastic.

    http://www.brandywineconservancy.org/

    Reply
  2. Eric

    Hi Marian, thanks. It is a great place, they work really hard to keep everything moving forward.

    Hi Morgan – I think I remember that. Another classroom had that large landscape by Frederic Church, “The Heart of the Andes.” I’ve been to the Brandywine. Did you tour N.C.’s studio up the hill? What a fantastic place. If you’re ever up in Rockland, Maine, check out the museum there. The building behind across the street is full of work by all three of the Wyeths.

    Reply
  3. morgan

    I’ve harbored a hope to get to Maine, but haven’t made the trip. When I get out there I’ll definitely check out the museum!

    Reply
  4. Teresa H.

    It was only recently that I discovered Andrew Wyeth’s amazing art work. I am a Liberal Arts Major at Miami University and this past summer I came accross an original exibition poster from Wyeth’s 1976 Two Worlds of Andrew Wyeth exibition at the MET; I researched Andrew Wyeth’s work and was blown away at some of his American masterpieces. I was too sad to here he passed away, but since I have visited web site musuems and hope to learn more about his art work.

    Reply
  5. ericmerrell Post author

    Hi Teresa, thanks for visiting the blog. The Brandywine Museum in Pennsylvania and the museum in Rockland, Maine both have good collections of Wyeth’s work. Of course, seeing them in person reveals so much more to the work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

