New work at Edenhurst Gallery

Pioneertown Corral_s

Pioneertown Corral, 11″ x 14″, Oil on panel, © Eric Merrell

Some of the paintings from my summer residency in Joshua Tree can be seen at Edenhurst Gallery, 73660 El Paseo, Palm Desert, CA. Edenhurst has a neat collection of historic art, lots of early California paintings, as well as some good contemporary work by Junn Roca and Lynn Gertenbach. If you’re in the area, stop by the gallery, it’s like visiting a museum. Plus, you can always get a date shake at Hadley’s, just down the road in Cabazon.

This corral is near the post office in Pioneertown, not far from Joshua Tree. The sign hanging over the entrance gate actually reads “O.K. Corral.” The town was started initially as a filming set by Roy Rogers and Gene Autry, complete with an “old west” street. If you go, make sure you stop by Pappy and Harriet’s Pioneertown Palace.

Forbidding Lands_s

Forbidding Lands, 11″ x 14″, Oil on panel, © Eric Merrell

Roaring_Rock_s

The Roar of Time, 14″ x 11″, Oil on panel, © Eric Merrell

This was painted the day that Ted Kennedy died. I had heard it mentioned on the radio, and when I drove up to the park later in the morning, the flag was at half-mast. When I found this rock near the Hidden Valley area, it reminded me of the “Lion of the Senate.”

6 thoughts on “New work at Edenhurst Gallery

  1. morgan

    Hi Eric! It’s unusual to find myself in a position of conformance, but I agree with Tony and Marian; Forbidding Lands puts the awe in awesome. [meaning: it's awe-inspiring]

    Reply
  2. Kerri Tuttle

    So glad you stopped by my blog! I’ve been meaning to touch base with you; we are in the LA area pretty frequently and I would love to come by your studio some time that is convenient!

    We are still in the honeymoon stage of desert life, but the reality seeps in through the corners at times.

    We’re happy, mostly, which is about all one can hope for, really.

    I’m writing a lot (as you pointed out). I’m working on a major transition – ask me about it in April and maybe I’ll have figured things out by then ;)

    Love to you and your gorgeous lady. Will you be out here anytime soon?

    xo
    Kerri

    Reply

Leave a Reply

