Beware of Fish Scapulas, etc.

13 thoughts on “Beware of Fish Scapulas, etc.”

  1. Hi Dan, thanks, really like some of the still life and winter landscapes you’ve been doing.

    Hi Mary, the Salton Sea is about 2 1/2 hours east of L.A. in the desert, southeast of Palm Springs or so (there is a lot of cool history to the area, which you should be able to find by googling it). The scapula is the shoulder blade, which has a very distinct triangular shape – lots of them on the beaches.

  2. Oh, my, you’ve brought back some interesting memories from 1960:
    A clean, white sand beach–no shade!
    Boat races and parents water skiing
    Inner tubes
    A military surplus nylon parachute set up for a latrine
    Sitting by a fire at night with star filled, dark sky overhead
    Tennis shoes for swimming to protect against the coral’s razor-like cuts

    Your beautiful painting captures how it would appear at sunrise.

  3. Hi Melinda, thanks for visiting and for the great recollections. It sounds like what I would imagine from the photographs I’ve seen. There still is no shade, good thing we had umbrellas to work under!

  4. Hi Eric,
    We met in the Arroyo last week – you with your canvas, me with my husband, my dog and my camera. I enjoyed meeting you and have really loved nosing around your website and blog.

    I’ll be posting about you tomorrow on PasadenaDailyPhoto.blogspot.com. The post goes up at midnight tonight. I hope you enjoy it.

  5. Hi Petrea, Wonderful to meet you, your husband and your dog out in the Arroyo, what a great day that was. The warm clear calm days before the winter storm season. Thanks for including me in the post, that’s very kind of you. Writers are very important to artists!

    I’m sure we’ll run into each other at an exhibition soon!

  6. Hi Eric,
    Great blog and work! I love your color and more modern sensibilities. I would love to see this Salton Sea painting in person sometime.
    I particularly enjoyed this post on your painting venture to the Salton Sea as I am planning a trip there to paint there for a few days toward the end of the month. I would love to ask you a few questions about your experience there. I’ve been there a couple of times with my wife before but not to paint and was planning on staying at at hotel in Niland and painting around Bombay Beach (going alone this time). I was also thinking of going over to Slab City to see if I might find any good painting possibilities but I’m not sure how receptive the people there might be to a painter. I’ve heard they can be a bit strange. Salvation Mountain is very cool but too much for my painting!

    Right now I am painting a series on the boulders of Mt. Woodson in Ramona that is keeping me very busy, you can see them along with other San Diego based work posted on my blog (and website) at: http://www.larrygroff.com/blog
    I hope to hear from you.

  7. Hi Larry, thanks very much for stopping by. The Salton Sea was a cool place to paint. It’s pretty desolate, so it was nice to have others around for company. I didn’t know there were any hotels in Niland! The whole area is great for painting, though. Slab City would be interesting, I don’t know how the locals would react to a painter. They might love it, but you might also have a crowd looking over your shoulder. At least Salvation Mountain is a fun place to visit. Have a good time out there.

Leave a Reply

