Sign up for the eNewsletter

5 thoughts on “Sign up for the eNewsletter”

  1. Eric,
    When I try and click on many of the painings on your website the thumbnails won’t open, perhaps a glitch in the system? I’d love to look at the still life’s close up…
    Could you have someone check it? Thanks a Million Lisa

    1. Hi Lisa,

      The links should be okay; I just checked them on my end and they worked alright. Try restarting your browser program and/or clearing the cache and see if that helps.

      Eric

  2. Hi Eric,
    Please add my name to your newsletter email.

    Also, I have a question about lighting in the studio. I was wondering what is the best way to light a studio if there is not access to much natural light? I am concerned about whether to use track lighting or tube lighting. Also the placement of the lights to avoid glare. Any insights would be most welcome.

    Mary Beth

    Thanks,
    Mary Beth

  3. Hi Mary Beth, Thanks, I’ll add your name.

    Since I work outdoors on my sketches I want to be able to see them in relatively the same light when I bring them indoors. After some experimenting, I’ve found that using a combination of incandescent (warm) and fluorescent (cool) lights comes pretty close. (Outdoors there is a warm light source in the sun and a cool light source in the sky.) The ultimate way to judge this is with a sketch that you’ve done outdoors. If the painting/color translates indoors like it did outdoors, you’re on the right track.

    I have a large fluorescent light over the painting area, and three incandescent fllodlights.

    Reflection is trickier. This might take some adjusting to get right, and sometimes may need to be adjusted from painting to painting (sometimes brushstrokes/heavy paint can be quite hard to work with). Decreasing reflection is also a constant battle outdoors.

    Good luck, let me know if you have any more questions! Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

