The Artist As Critic: Art That Inspires

6 thoughts on “The Artist As Critic: Art That Inspires”

  1. Eric, the connection with Klimt peaked my interest. I came across that same landscape painting by him a few years back and have since used it in some of my talks with classes – I totally agree that that particular painting has a rich sense of color and a certain freshness to it and even though it is relatively simple in design it never seems to get old. Nice article.

    1. Thanks Andy. It struck me at a certain point that art giants such as Klimt, Monet, and Van Gogh are instantly recognizable at a distance. They internalized their subjects and showed the world a completely new way of seeing things, without reinventing the wheel.

  2. This is a very interesting and insightful interview. Thank you for sharing it. It gives me a new appreciation for not only your work, but Klimt’s; I had no idea he did landscapes. I especially liked this that you said:
    “I want to show that there is still something new that can be said with painting. I want to paint subjects they may have otherwise not thought of as being paintable. I find myself avoiding “traditional” perspectives of landscapes and digging a little deeper.”
    People say “there is nothing new under the sun”. In some cases that is very true. I see so many landscapes that have the same quality or style that it just leaves me bored.
    I think that’s what drew me to your work in the first place–you look at the landscape differently. And you stay true to your vision.

    1. Thanks Linda. I spend a lot of time trying to find the right words to convey the ideas and processes behind my painting, and am constantly thinking of how I might have better stated something. Just like painting I suppose 🙂 Glad you like it.

Leave a Reply

