Remembering Daphne Huntington (1910-2012) and Her Contributions to CAC Art History

13 thoughts on “Remembering Daphne Huntington (1910-2012) and Her Contributions to CAC Art History”

  1. Thank you for sharing this background on Daphne Huntington…..really interesting and a life well-lived. Charmaine Jefferson

    ________________________________

  2. Eric, It’s too bad you’re such a great painter because you could just as well spend all your time researching and writing California art history. You really have the human touch and the empathy to tell a story like this. A fine tribute.

  3. Thank you again Eric for this wonderful piece. Indeed your research and writing abilities are second to none and you really hit upon all the important points in their extraordinary lives. I continue in my endeavor to help them make their mark even after their passing.

    1. Hello Mr. Kennedy, My name is Teresa Sleiman and I am writing this for Wayne Klein. I am trying to learn about info on your cousin Pamela Huntington. Wayne dated her in the late 1950’s when he was in the Navy and stationed in CA. He came to know her mom Daphne, aunt Venetia, grandma Anne, and uncle Richard during this time and was very fond of them. He still has a photo of herself that Pamela gave to him. He has thought about her from time to time through the years, and wanted to try to find her to see if it turned out that she had a good life and was happy. He is now 76 years old and has no patience for the computer. I told him that I would help him find her. This has proved to be a difficult task. Any info that you could pass on to me would be greatly appreciated. If you don’t feel comfortable giving out the info yourself, could you please pass my e-mail address on to someone who maybe could? Thank you for your help in this. You will be easing the mind of an old man, and bringing him peace and happiness. Thanks again, Teresa

  4. Eric,
    Just came across your article, and compliments to you on your writing skills! So sad to see that Daphne has passed on, but now she is reunited with her sister and other family! The article is of interest because I have so many pieces from their lives; i.e., clothing, accessories, paintings, ceramics, paper products, family photos, poetry, books and other ephemera, boxes of their jewelry and jewelry-making pieces, etc. Your biographies have provided great background, as well as have been very interesting reading!

    1. Hi Liesl,
      Thanks for your comments, I was glad to have known her. Did you know her also? I wonder if there is other history in the items you have that would add to the story. Do you have articles and photos scanned? The family might be interested in pieces of history they didn’t know.

  5. Hello, I am writing on behalf of Wayne Klein. He dated Pamela Huntington in the 1950’s when he was in the Navy and stationed in California. He knew the family when they lived on Wanda Drive. He has thought of Pamela often through the years, and still has a photo that she gave him of herself. I told him that I would help him try to locate her. This has proven to be a difficult task. Is there anyone who has any information about Pamela? If so, I would be grateful if you would send me an e-mail at teresas_1213@yahoo.com. Thanks so much for your help in this, Teresa Sleiman

  6. Trying to find info on Daphne’s daughter, Pamela Huntington. My boyfriend dated her when he was in the Navy in 1957. Have been trying for a couple years to locate her. Can anyone out there help? Thanks, Teresa Sleiman teresas_1213@yahoo.com

Leave a comment